Skip to main content
LAVC News & Announcements

News Blog

LAVC Speech Team Wins Team Bronze and 3 Individual Golds at the National Championships

Congratulations to the LAVC Speech Team for earning a team bronze medal, 3 individual gold medals, 1 individual silver medal, and 12 individual bronze medals at the 2017 Phi Rho Pi National Speech Competition near Washington D.C. In addition, team member Maia Gaboian was honored with the Warren-Dahlin Student Fellowship Award.

LAVC Speech Team Wins Team Bronze and 3 Individual Golds at the National Championships

The LAVC Speech Team brought home a team bronze medal from the 2017 Phi Rho Pi National Speech Competition on April 10-15, 2017 in Tysons, Virginia, which is located outside Washington D.C.

The 14-member team won a total of three individual gold medals, one individual silver medal, twelve individual bronze medals, a team silver medal, and the Warren-Dahlin Student Fellowship Award at the national speech competition for community colleges.

LAVC student Maia Gaboian was honored by her peers with the Warren-Dahlin Student Fellowship Award, which is awarded to an outstanding student competing at the national tournament that exhibits the finest qualifies of fellowship. This is the first time in LAVC history that a member of the team has been honored with this award.

The LAVC Speech Team comprises of LAVC students Vahan Aslanyan, Angela Brutyan, Ronnell Evans, Agatha Feras, Ben Flores, Sarahi Flores, Maia Gaboian, Khamani Griffin, Angel Hernandez, Mahin Hossain, Sergio Martinez, Aleksandr Nasibyan. Amy Lynn Perea, and DeLorean Thomas. The team is coached by Kevin Briancesco, Dr. Joe Faina, and LAVC speech alumnus Arthur Valenzuela.

The following is a list of the national awards won by the LAVC Speech and Debate team and its members:


Overall Individual Events: 


Warren-Dahlin Student Fellowship Award
Maia Gaboian


Dramatic Interpretation: 
Maia Gaboian – Gold
Vahan Aslanyan – Bronze

Communications Analysis:
Agatha Feras – Bronze

Duo Interpretation:
Amy Lynn Perea and Maia Gaboian – Bronze

Extemporaneous Speaking:
Sarahi Flores – Bronze

Impromptu Speaking:
Sarahi Flores – Gold
Mahin Hossain – Silver
DeLorean Thomas – Bronze

Informative Speaking:
Ben Flores – Bronze

Poetry Interpretation:
Amy Lynn Perea – Gold
Sergio Martinez – Bronze

Program Oral Interpretation:
Khamani Griffin – Bronze
Ronnell Evans – Bronze

Speech to Entertain:
Amy Lynn Perea – Bronze
Ronnell Evans – Bronze

It has been a successful year for the LAVC Speech and Debate Team. Right before the national tournament, the team won the state championship at the California Community College Forensic Association's (CCCFA) 2017 State Tournament in April 2017. 

According to the LAVC speech team director Kevin Briancesco, the team members have had a successful records over the past few years. Over the past 3 years, he noted that 25 members (out of 28 members) of the LAVC Speech and Debate Team at the national tournament have earned a bronze medal or higher at the state or national tournaments. This includes 12 different individuals who have been named the state or national champion.

In addition, the Speech Team's alumni have successfully transferred from LAVC to UC Berkeley, UCLA, UC Santa Barbara, Cal Poly San Luis Obispo, Eastern Michigan University, Western Kentucky University, Cal State Long Beach, CSUN, Concordia University, and UC Riverside. 

If you are interested in getting involved with the LAVC Speech and Debate team, please contact the team’s director, Kevin Briancesco, at

Follow LAVC Speech and Debate on Facebook:


Posted by: LAVC PR Office on 4/26/2017 5:00:11 PM