Skip to main content

Committee Meeting Dates

11/01/12, 12/06/12, 02/07/13, 03/07/13, 04/11/13, 05/02/13, 05/30/13

Committee Members

Dave Green, Student Svcs
Raul Gonzalez, Admin Svcs
Tom Lopez, Dir., College Facilities
Sheri Berger, Academic Affairs

Faculty Members
Phyllis Yasuda, Chairs & Directors
Harry Fink, AFT/Senate
Betty Ballew, AFT/Senate
Eliza Uzunyan, Counselor, DSPS
Meredith Leonard, AFT/Senate*
Dana Lubow, AFT/Senate
Marla O'Connell, AFT/Senate
Giovanni Trombetta, AFT/Senate
Librada Hernandez, AFT/Senate
Tyler Prante, AFT/Senate
Gail Nastasia, AFT/Senate

Staff Members
Luke Davis, SEIU 721
Israel Ortiz, AFT 1521A
Maria Real, AFT 1521A
Daniel Valdez, Bldg & Trades/SEIU 99

Student Member
Pattie Cortez, ASU Rep (2011-2012)



Work Environment Committee

Work Environment Committee



To review space utilization and work environment matters and make recommendations to support a healthy, safe, and effective work environment.

Long Term Goals:

  • Examine requests by departments for revision of their current space allocation.
  • Investigate the needs of departments for modernizing current facilities.
  • Prioritize Valley College's capital construction projects.
  • Review Campus Alterations and Improvements projects costing more than $100,000 and make recommendations to the College Council.
  • Carry out responsibilities of the Campus Work Environment Committee, as described in the Collective Bargaining Agreements.

2012-2013 Goals:

  • Develop Campus Bicycle Policy.
  • Assist in Planning, Implementation, and Promotion of New Smoking Policy.
  • Improve Communication on Campus with Respect to Work Environment Issues.
  • Improve Emergency Preparedness on Campus.
  • Review Annual Plan Facilities Modules.
  • Work to Optimize Parking on Campus During Construction.

Work Environment Committee Representation

  • 10 faculty members jointly selected by the AFT Faculty Guild and the Academic Senate
  • 1 faculty member from Department Council
  • 1 SSD representative
  • 5 administrators selected by the College President
  • 2 members selected by the AFT Staff Guild
  • 1 member from the non-AFT classified unions
  • 1 student selected by the ASU